… Would You Like To ‘Super Size’ That?

2 03 2010

Oh first if you just have time for one video … I have consolidated my work from Fox 43 into the video just below.

Please keep in mind I only had a two week ‘temp’ job at Fox 43 … had hoped for more, but something is better than nothing!

Here are a few clips from my 5th and 10th days on the air;

I was able to get a job in broadcasting right after I turned 16 at  a station in Laurel, Maryland, WLMD,  by the summer was working 70 hours a week … so I never had to work a ‘fast food’ job. I’m beginning to wonder if there is a first time for everything?

This is the first time in my life that I have ever been worried about what happens next? I’m not going to kid you it was a blow that the WPMT job did not become permanent, but at least I was able to get some updated material. You can judge for yourself, but I still think I do a good job?

I just found out  for a photog opening at the local small town paper, Harrisonburg Daily News-Record, 6 days a week, about 30k circulation … 300 people applied for the job!

I have never worked so hard to get a new full-time position, plus I have never seen so few job lisitings!

My product is more than just a TV weatherman, (You can find much more of my demo on the second page of this blog) however I have never seen so few weather openings available. Today on TVJOBs.com there were only 26 listed and many pay 25k or less!

The pay scale in TV broadcasting has not changed in 20 years and now may be going backwards.

So what am I going to do? You have any suggestions?

I’ve also been applying to groups, causes, that I believe in when I see openings and NGOs, but it is almost like sending my material into the ether … is the mailman just trashing my material?

Oh well at least I’ve been able to keep my car going and had a chance to visit my daughter Kylee in Boston at Harvard … but as wonderful as it is to have Sunday brunch at the Adams Dining Hall … that does not pay the bills.

I’ve also been working on my book ‘Tangled Wires’ … its is the story of how I got to this point and it has been a wild ride, its not ready for ‘prime time’ yet, but it is something I need to get done. I lead off with the quote from Mark Twain “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn’t.” … how true in so many ways I know that to be!

Maybe someday it will help pay the bills, but not today.

So now is the time for some creative thinking and I still try to stay optimistic and as you can see from the photo stream on the right … life is still an adventure, but I am a little nervous.

Would love to hear from you and if you know of employment opportunities that would be right for me both in and outside of the media … please let me know. Of course my resume is easy to find here on the site.

Hey at least March is here; the end of winter is in sight … I was so sure that I was going to be moving in January, I had the gas turned off and have been living with space heaters … I have never been so cold in my life, I’d much rather sweat than shiver … thank God for goose down!

There are two quotes from Winston Churchill that I also use in my book and try my best to live by;

“Never give in–never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.”

“Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.”

So I keep hoping tomorrow will be a brighter day … I hope it is a good one for you too!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

