I Had To Change My References …

3 02 2010

Another shock … a man who was a good friend to me, so much so I had him listed as one of my references, Art Szcykalski, has died at the age of 66.

Here is a picture of us together from the last day of WPHL’s in-house news operation on December 9, 2005. Art was an amazing man … he worked over FORTY YEARS for WPHL!

This is a little of what I wrote about Art;

I was the last weatherman of WPHL’s in-house newscast, since the Weather Center was in the studio Art and I spent a lot of time together the last two years of the WB.

All I can do is echo the comments that have come before mine. Whether it was stories about Carole working at the school, his last trip to AC or some of the ‘old days’ at 17, there was always a new one and they were always great.

Art was sympathetic and encouraging to me with the issues that I faced and I thought of him as, not just as a co-worker, but as a friend.

My son Zane and were just looking at some pictures of the three of us on the last day of WB17 news in December of ’05.

Not only a real pro, but one of the kindest and most ‘real’ people I have ever met.

It was a privilege to work with him and I express my deepest sympathies to his family.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

