The Same Story …

6 04 2005

Let’s see if I figured out how to add pictures to this site;

Ahhh … the answer is no, but I’ll try to add some to my personal web site and then may be able to link them here … Maybe? Stay tuned …

I was reading a story last week about a new book “Doing the Right Thing: Taking Care of Your Elderly Parents Even if They Didn’t Take Care of You”

Interesting after getting back in touch with my sister Alison … she has been through some major life experiences of her own.

Even though our journey has been different, we share many common experiences, we have the same father, but different mothers … neither one of us has any real contact with either of our parents for an extended period of time.

What were we born from reptiles that just abandon their young?

My children are not be with me as much as I would like, but my daughter knows as long as I still have a credit card she can just call me and I will have a ticket for her waiting for the next flight, plus I continue to fight for equal access to be with son … so far in our 22nd month of litigation … his mother when considering her other children is now in her 9th straight year of custody litigation … there were many ‘red flags’ with her … but at the time I just didn’t see them.

I am blessed with two beautiful children and I can’t imagine, no matter how old they are or what they did or where they are that I would not be in touch with them and see them.

Considering what my sister and I have been through, I told her I think we both need to congratulate ourselves for being as complete people as we are … I am so happy that through our struggles that we have again found each other.

While there is a hole in our lives, because of our parents, childhood and youth, I don’t think it is a one that our kids will ever have to face (at least not as intensely) as we have learned much from the pain of neglect.

I have already on several occasions apologized, said I’m sorry, to my daughter for not being everything I should have been in the past as a father to her … I hope she has forgiven me … the hard lessons I’ve learned with her, I take into my custody struggle for my son … I will never walk away from either of my children.

“I’m sorry” … only two words, but words I have never heard from either one of my parents.

My father needs to go the ‘Atonement Tour’ and visit his children, it would do much for and me and his other children, but more for him. There is much he is missing out on … he has never even seen the special little boy that is his grandson and I wonder if he ever will?

My next post will be the about the ‘Ace of Diamonds’ … I hope to have it up soon.

Thanks for your time …

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

