Baseball …

5 04 2005

As a kid baseball saved me … without it I don’t know if I could have made it as child, much of my childhood was a journey through hell … more on some of that story to come … someday, maybe.

What about ‘The Nationals’?

Different league, but the same result as my beloved Senators … a loss … you know I still have a few ticket stubs from the ’71 Senators … Box Seats were $4.50, now $40!

In 1974, many were so sure that the San Diego Padres would move to DC that baseball cards were even printed listing “Washington National League’.

As a young teen, all I wanted to do was to be part of baseball … I sent a long letter to the Padres explaining why I should be given a chance to be the teams ‘bat boy’.

They were even kind enough to send back a letter saying that in no way the move was assured, but I would be considered should the team move east … of course the move never happened.

At that age I was even more tenacious than I am now and I wanted that job … what would have happen then?

As a teenager, I had so much trouble dealing with other kids, school and almost no support at home, I had to get a job to have some degree of self respect, so at 16 I started working full time as I have ever since, last month marked my 30th year in broadcasting … by the summer, when I was 16, I was working 70 hours a week … that fall weekends I would work from 10pm Friday straight through to 3pm Saturday afternoon and then drive home 40 miles from Baltimore, this after trying to go school on Friday … what kind of parent lets their 16 year old do this?

Twice I fell asleep while driving home, nothing give you quite the shot of adrenalin like waking up and realizing that you are driving a car, just hit a a guard rail and have bounced off it across two lanes of traffic … yet I did it week after week. (amazingly only a small dent, from bouncing off the guard rail, to the car)

One of my biggest regrets in life, of which there are many … who are these people that go through life and say they wouldn’t change a thing? I would change a lot … is that I did not pursue baseball, maybe I wouldn’t have even made an ‘A’ team, but who knows?

The saddest phrase I know is, ‘what might have been’?

My daughter says I spend too much time looking at the past, those who don’t study history are condemned to repeat it, but she is right the only way we can go is forward.

The laws of physics allow to go ahead in time, (relatively … if you could somehow travel at close to the speed of light) but we can never go back except in our minds.

I’m doing the best I can to learn from my many, many mistakes and move forward … there is no other way to go.

BTW: Del Unser threw out the first pitch in today’s game … I remember him with Senators when I was a young boy … that was 34 years ago. It makes me realize that chances are I am in the second half of my life, I feel like I’m down by a couple of touchdowns to use another sports metaphor, but hopefully there still is a lot of time left on the clock.

More tomorrow … hopefully.

265 days until Christmas.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

